Hold Still

HOLD STILL is a brand-new work by multi-award-winning South African playwright and academic, Nadia Davids (At Her Feet, What Remains). It is about a family (Ben, Rosa, and their son Oliver) struggling deeply with ancestral debt, inter-generational trauma and a profound sense of political responsibility. Set against a contemporary cosmopolitan London rife with xenophobia, the fear of strangeness and the stranger is a steady theme throughout - as is the theme of concealing the unspoken. That which cannot be said between Ben (British Jewish) and Rosa (black South African) and within their mixed-race, interfaith marriage. It also deals with what it means to be someone's child, someone's parent. Nadia Davids wrote the play in 2019 with no sense of what was coming and so she plans to revise the narrative slightly to incorporate aspects of the coronavirus pandemic, which will build on the existing threads.

The production is directed by Mdu Kweyama (The Goat, or Who is Sylvia (2019) and Reza de Wet's Missing (2015)) and features Mojisola Adebayo and Lionel Newton as Rosa and Ben. The set is designed by Patrick Curtis and Lighting is by Mannie Manim.

Wed, 13 Oct 2021 - 19:00
Thu, 14 Oct 2021 - 19:00
Fri, 15 Oct 2021 - 19:00
Sat, 16 Oct 2021 - 19:00
Mon, 18 Oct 2021 - 19:00
Tue, 19 Oct 2021 - 19:00
Wed, 20 Oct 2021 - 19:00
Thu, 21 Oct 2021 - 19:00
Fri, 22 Oct 2021 - 19:00
Sat, 23 Oct 2021 - 19:00
Mon, 25 Oct 2021 - 19:00
Tue, 26 Oct 2021 - 19:00
Wed, 27 Oct 2021 - 19:00
Thu, 28 Oct 2021 - 19:00
Fri, 29 Oct 2021 - 19:00
Sat, 30 Oct 2021 - 19:00
Venue: 

13 - 20 October

Golden Arrow Studio

Nightly at 19:00
Sat Matinee at 14:30
 

Price

Early Bird (book before 1 Oct, only for first 5 performances)

R125
Mon - Wed & Matinees R150
Thu - Sat R200
Students, Seniors & Groups (Contact Leon or Carmen, info below) R125

Book here

Contact Information: 

For block bookings, contact:

Carmen Kearns
carmen.kearns@uct.ac.za

Leon van Zyl
leon.vanzyl@uct.ac.za

TOP