When we Awake

 

First Developed with Andrew Buckland and Mncedisi Shabangu under the direction of Nwabisa Plaatjie and now performed by Nolufefe Ntshuntshe and Sisipho Mbopa the piece grapples with #MenareTrash, #Metoo, #AmInext, through a story about two sisters haunted by the loss of their older sister Notea. Their mother told them she was told that Notea drowned in a pot of porridge. Their grandmother, however, told them a different story but was never honest about what exactly happened to uNotea.

As violence against women and children gets worse Thembeka considers the things that happened to her older sister while Thobeka, reminds her of the story their grandmother told them.

Tue, 18 Feb 2020 - 19:00
Wed, 19 Feb 2020 - 19:00
Thu, 20 Feb 2020 - 19:00
Fri, 21 Feb 2020 - 19:00
Sat, 22 Feb 2020 - 19:00
Mon, 24 Feb 2020 - 19:00
Tue, 25 Feb 2020 - 19:00
Wed, 26 Feb 2020 - 19:00
Thu, 27 Feb 2020 - 19:00
Fri, 28 Feb 2020 - 19:00
Sat, 29 Feb 2020 - 19:00
Venue: 

18 - 29 Feb 2020

Masambe Theatre

Every day at 19:00

60 minutes (no interval)

No under 13's

Price

Full Price R120
Senior Citizens

R100

Block Bookings R80

Book now

Contact Information: 

For block bookings, contact:

Leon van Zyl on leon.vanzyl@uct.ac.za or 0216803972

Carmen Kearns on carmen.kearns@uct.ac.za or 0216803993

TOP